Detroit Tests of Learning Aptitude - 5th Edition (DTLA-5)
Donald D. Hammill * Ronnie L. McGhee * David J. Ehrler
Ages: 5 - 21 years
Testing Time: Untimed
Administration: Individual
    The Detroit Tests of Learning Abilities–Fifth Edition (DTLA-5) is the oldest and most venerable of the tests of specific cognitive abilities. The figure below illustrates the DTLA-5 test structure. The test includes 12 subtests: Humanities/Social Studies, Science/Mathematics, Word Opposites, Word Associations, Geometric Matrices, Geometric Sequences, Sentence Imitation, Word Span, Design Reproduction, Reversed Letters, Trail Making, and Rapid Naming. The results of the subtests can be combined to form 9 composites. Six of these composites represent different cognitive subdomains (Acquired Knowledge, Verbal Comprehension, Nonverbal Problem Solving, Verbal Memory, Nonverbal Memory, and Processing Speed); two of these composites represent larger, important cognitive domains (Reasoning Ability and Processing Ability). One global composite is formed by combining the results of all 12 of the DTLA-5 subtests and represents general cognitive ability. Examiners can administer the subtests from one or both of the DTLA-5 domains, depending on the purpose of the evaluation.
Demographic Characteristics:

    DTLA-5 was built with the AERA/APA/NCME's 2014 standards for technical adequacy clearly in mind. The test was normed on 1,383 students residing in 30 states and 354 zip codes. The demographic characteristics of the normative sample are representative of the U.S. population as a whole (as reported by the U.S. Bureau of the Census, 2015) with regard to gender, race, ethnicity, household income, educational attainment of parents, and geographic distribution. Norms are stratified by age.
Normative Scores:

    The DTLA-5 Online Scoring and Report System (provided as part of the DTLA-5 Complete Kit) was designed as a quick, efficient tool for (a) entering test-session data; (b) converting subtest item scores or subtest total raw scores into scaled scores; (c) converting sums of scaled scores into composite index scores, percentile ranks, and upper and lower confidence intervals; (d) comparing DTLA-5 scores to identify significant intraindividual differences; and (e) obtaining a score summary and narrative report.

    The DTLA-5 yields four types of normative scores: age equivalents, percentile ranks, subtest scaled scores, and composite indexes. Percentiles provide the examiner with an index that is easily understood by parents and others with whom the test results are to be shared. Subtest scaled scores are based on a distribution having a mean of 10 and standard deviation of 3. Composite indexes are based on a distribution having a mean of 100 and standard deviation of 15. Age equivalents are indexes of relative standing that translate subtest raw scores to what are commonly termed mental ages.

    Reliability of the DTLA-5 was investigated using estimates of content sampling and time sampling. Internal consistency reliability coefficients (content sampling) range from .79 to .90 for the subtests, from .87 to .95 for the subdomain composites, and from .95 to .98 for the domain and global composites. Time sampling was investigated using the test–retest technique. Test–retest coefficients range from .72 to .90 for the subtests, from .80 to .92 for the subdomain composites, and from .93 to .96 for the domain and global composites.
DLTA-5-1    Complete Kit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $622.75
Complete Kit Includes: Examiner’s Manual, Picture Books 1 and 2, 25 Examiner Record Booklets, and 25 Student Response Booklets, all in a sturdy storage box 
User Qualifications Required ... See Order Form Here